Description, Administration and Scoring


The Civilian Mississippi Scale is a 39-item self-report measure that assesses PTSD in civilian populations.

Items sample DSM symptoms of PTSD and frequently observed associated features (substance abuse, suicidality, and depression). Respondents are asked to rate how they feel about each item using 5-point, Likert-style response categories. Ten positively framed items are reversed scored and then responses are summed to provide an index of PTSD symptom severity which can range from 35-175.


Scoring procedures are as follows:

Each item recieves a score of 1-5, with the following items scored in reverse order:

2, 6, 11, 17, 19, 22, 24, 27, 30 and 34

Add all items to obtain the total score which correctly classifies 90% of all subjects as PTSD or non-PTSD. Means for the three validations groups are as follows:

  • PTSD: 130 (sd = 18)
  • PSYCH: 86 (sd = 26)
  • Well-adjusted: 76 (sd = 18)

There are no norms at this point.

~National Center for PTSD